TRF Forums

It is currently Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:51 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2015 6:46 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:23 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Buntingford, Herts
Hello,
I'm after some help and advice, I have been using a Garmin Zumo 550 for sometime and have a "Lifetime Map Update" with City Navigator
I have now purchased a new Garmin Montana 600 which came with full GB OS mapping on the installed memory card, I would now like to load the City Navigator maps onto my new device.
I believe the maps have to be unlocked to load them onto the Montana, can anyone shed any light on how this can be down ?

Many Thanks

Glenn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2015 10:35 pm 
Offline
400 cc
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:32 pm
Posts: 1468
I ended buying the download version from garmin of uk city navigator.£30 ish.
I could only get uk to fit as well as the pre loaded 1.50 os maps.

Whole of europe and os 1.50 will not fit on theunit without fiddling with the software.

_________________
I like progress,and its happening in Herefordshire

Hereford Chairman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Worcester.
A way round it is to have GB Discoverer and CN Europe on one sd card. This is how i use mine, just switch between maps when needed.

_________________
Yamaha TTR250.
Yamaha XT660Z Tenere.
Suzuki DL650.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 7:38 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:23 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Buntingford, Herts
Hi locky,
That exactly what I'm looking at doing but I'm not sure I can copy the GB discovery maps from the current sd card onto another ?
I also currently own an up to date copy of CN Europe with lifetime updates which is on my Zumo, trouble is its locked to that device and I don't believe it can be unlocked and used on another ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 7:41 pm 
Offline
400 cc
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:32 pm
Posts: 1468
How did you copy gb discoverer and europe onto one card Locky ?
Mine came with discoverer pre loaded onto the unit.

_________________
I like progress,and its happening in Herefordshire

Hereford Chairman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2015 8:57 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Worcester.
I'm not sure how it would work with a pre loaded map. I got my unit without maps as i wanted to stick to sd cards only for maps as it's easier to manage.

I'll send you both a pm.

_________________
Yamaha TTR250.
Yamaha XT660Z Tenere.
Suzuki DL650.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2015 8:33 am 
Offline
300 cc
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:36 pm
Posts: 608
Let me know how you get on. I have three genuine garmin maps on cards and so far have been installing them separately, as I learnt you can't copy them. I looked on torrent sites for cracked copies to do this but found nothing

_________________
Husqvarna WR165, Ducati 1100SS EVO, anything but a KTM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:43 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:34 am
Posts: 23
I have OS on the card that it comes on and load OSM on the Garmin memory and switch between them as needed. OSM is as good or better than the Garmin maps, Garmin even use OSM themselves on some units.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:29 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 2:23 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Buntingford, Herts
Hi richgilb,

Things have been a bit of a problem but "locky" has been working hard on resolving the issue, more details to follow soon all being well :-)

Inc,
Where did you get the OSM maps you talk of ?

Cheers

gteps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Maps on new Garmin Montana (Help)
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:51 pm 
Offline
200 cc

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 464
I know it's an old post, but did anyone sus out how to get more than one map on an SD card? I have the Europe map and the discoverer. It would be handy if I could get them on one card. I can copy them to my PC but basecamp cannot see them. I have to either plug the GPS in or put and SD card in. PITA.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group. Color scheme by ColorizeIt!