TRF Forums

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:04 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
 Post subject: Where to start? Which bike?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 6:36 pm 
80 cc

Hi there, I'm sure this question has been asked a thousand times before, so please bare with me. I've just recently passed my bike test and have now got the task of finding a bike. I'm 6 2", 13 stone, 39 years old and have a budget of between £2500- £3500. I was leaning towards the ktm market but I'm also thinking of maintenance and running costs. I've zero experience with bikes so any information or advice will be greatly appreciated. Also where would be a good place to start trying to find a bike? I've checked eBay out and was wondering about more alternative reliable services. Can't wait to get a bike so I can get out and about with you all. I'm based in the matlock derbyshire area so look forward to getting out. Thanks in advance. Steve.

Post subject: Re: Where to start? Which bike?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:29 pm 

Good luck with your search, you will get lots of advice and options.

For me start with an older 250 so you are sure its what you want to do.

WR400F..Gone for a song.
CRF250L now on the lanes.
Novice off roader for years

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:40 pm 
80 cc

im probably not the best to give an answer as I thought id give it a go and have a ktm exc 500 arriving in the morning (it was a bargain although getting a 500 wasn't on the cards, I just couldn't say no), my first off road bike... ive always been an all or nothing kinda guy, ill let you know how I get on... wrapping myself round a tree!