TRF Forums

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 10:16 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Serow 250 Tyre Replacement
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:35 am 
50 cc

Hi
Does anyone have any advice on which tyres to fit on my 250 Serow to replace the Bridgestone Trailwings (120/80-18 rear and 2.75-21 front ) that come fitted as standard to the bike.
I am a newbie to trail riding and know very little about trail tyres such as tread patterns and who’s makes are considered to be good and which makes to avoid. I ride with the west york’s trf but when encountering the muddy section here in sunny Yorkshire I am finding the trailwings lacking a little, so any suggestions would be welcome.
Cheers
Phil

Post subject: Re: Serow 250 Tyre Replacement
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:44 pm 
200 cc

There are tyres that are ideal for 50% on tarmac/50% off tarmac...then there are those which are 20/80...and others which are 5/95.

I used to use Pirelli MT21 on my old XR400 until more suitable tyres became available for enduro/sportsman class. But if you want reasonable tyre wear, good grip on tarmac and are easy to fit, these are recommended.
If you have a look in mags like TBM there are various places selling these tyres at a good price ie. Watling Tyres, that also mail-order.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:39 am 
80 cc

Hi Phil

Adam here (SRL). Seen the post on the WYTRF site. Was waiting to see what size tyres you had. As StuB suggests, Michelin AC10's are awesome tyres. Road legal - good on road & good off road. You'll get 1500 - 2000 miles on a pair. They cost about £110 - £120 fitted (Woosters, York Rd., Leeds)

Get in touch on the WY site if you need more info.

PS Thanks for the coffess on Saturday - it was soooooooo good, having something hot after the soaking we got

Cheers

Adam

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:50 am 
400 cc