TRF Forums

It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 6:17 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 2:31 pm 
Offline
300 cc
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 558
What I would do now. Is copy and paste the map info from the os map card into a folder on your desk top and then copy it across to a new blank 4gb sd card which you leave in your pc. The copied info will work in base camp but not on a device (as it's lock protected) but it Saves you plugging in the device every time you want to look at the os maps in basecamp or having to remove the card and putting it in your pc. Make sure you COPY it do not Cut or delete it! Strange but basecamp will only read the data from an sd card you/ or I can't seem to get it to see the deck top file with it in only the sd card.

Have a flick through the tutorials on YouTube and start by creating some folders and list files.
I'd suggest one file for every county and one for planning and one for recording what you rode when you get back.

The key to remember is you can move data from folder to folder and it will be visible in all folders. So If you have all your green lanes for say Wiltshire in its own folder you can temporarily send all them to the planning folder to do a route, then remove them and they'll still be in the wilts folder, likewise when you're done you can send the planned route to another folder to record it and then remove it from the planning folder to keep that empty for next time.
If you remove daya from a folder then it won't be deleted it will be in its original location or if there isn't one it will be in the unlisted data folder. This is of course Unless you actually delete it, then it will be lost.
Back up basecamp periodically as it does hang sometimes on my laptop using windows 10 if I've been doing a lot of plotting. But it is an old lappy.

Plan your rides as tracks as routes are a bit cluttered for my liking and sometimes will keep sending you back to a road in a zig zag fashion.

https://youtu.be/kDyh1AsndVw


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:27 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 7:36 pm
Posts: 79
So can I put in a start point for argument sake in Manchester and put a fin point in Liverpool.and just mark up any lanes between the to points or does the Montana just plot a way through itself when in of road mode or do I have to create a route on base camp before every ride?
Sorry if that sounds daft!but I've never used one before.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:44 pm 
Offline
300 cc
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 558
It will do you a route as a black top sat nav I think.

You can plot the track in the device but it's easier on the pc.

You put in your start point and where you want to turn onto a lane etc. It won't plan you a route from A2B off road for you. You have to do that bit yourself.


Treat it more as a map with a line on it rather than your conventional sat nav.

You need to highlight the lanes and then pencil and plan your trip.

So yea. You plan every route yourself.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:07 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 7:36 pm
Posts: 79
Thanks for that I'm go a have a fiddle with it this week and see how get on.looking forward to see if there's any lanes I didn't know about round here.
Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:20 pm 
Offline
50 cc

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:58 am
Posts: 7
Top tip..... if ever you break your Montana 600 (I did, it flew out the cradle on a fire road in wales), checkout their exchange service..... cost about £100 and they provided me with a brand new unit in exchange, complete with a new 12 month warranty.
Another reason to buy Garmin.
Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:03 pm 
Offline
300 cc
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 558
chrisv wrote:
Top tip..... if ever you break your Montana 600 (I did, it flew out the cradle on a fire road in wales), checkout their exchange service..... cost about £100 and they provided me with a brand new unit in exchange, complete with a new 12 month warranty.
Another reason to buy Garmin.
Chris



That's Good to know,

I had issues with my screen digitiser. I pulled it apart and cleaned the seals and contacts and it's all good, it's simple enough and new digitiser(which I bought but never fitted) was cheap on eBay.

It also seemed that a software upgrade might have solved the issue.

Fortunately for me garmin he is only 8 mile up the road from me so if needed I can just drop it off.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:49 pm 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:43 pm
Posts: 29
So just bought a Montana any idea how long it will run off of the lithium battery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:22 pm 
Offline
300 cc
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 558
My Post from Facebook Saturday on the same subject.

It wasn't totally unfamiliar territory but it was tapped every junction. Even with light off screen was visible.


Quote:

FYI. 8.30am power up today. 30% back light, 15 second time out. 80% backlight from 3pm with a lot of use, same time out. Just about to turn it off 19.30.Image




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:47 am 
Offline
80 cc

Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:43 pm
Posts: 29
So it should do a day on the lanes just from the battery then.
Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Montana 600
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:05 pm 
Offline
300 cc
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 558
As long as you're not having the light on too much. With no light it lasts 2-3 days.
Take 3 AAs as a back up in your bag or buy a second battery. I always carry a fully charged spare Justin case. One day it went flat after 3 hours and I realised backlight was on 100% permanent.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group. Color scheme by ColorizeIt!