TRF Forums

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 6:05 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: Please help?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:47 pm 
50 cc

Hello,

I am new to greenlaning and in the process of selling my road bike (Z750) I would like to buy a trail / enduro bike and then join TRF :)

I am 25 & 6ft 3" and have set my mind on a KTM EXC. Can anybody offer any advice on a particular model? I have very limited experience of anything other than smooth tarmac and am after something that I am not going to need to change after I gain some experiance.

This bike will be purely used for greenlaning and not commuting and I have around £2000 to spend.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Many Thanks

DanN

Post subject: Re: Please help?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:25 am 
125cc

Hi DanN,

I can only pass on my experience.

Having only been riding a bike for a matter of hours, when I did my test, I bought a KTM400EXC, and have not looked back since. I have found the 400 to be ideal for me, in that I have been able to handle the power, but managed to learn as time has gone on.

The 400 will be less strained on the road, and not too powerful on the Trail.

As no doubt many members will tell you, there are numerous choices available for Trail Bikes, howvere, if you have already decided the KTM's are for you, then I do not think you will go far wrong with a 400.

You shoul be able to find one withon your price range. I have an 04 that I have had since new, which I would guess is worth around the 1800 mark now. It has cost me next to nothing to mainatain, and has never let me down. Regular oil changes and plenty of cleaning a TLC and you will just keep plodding on.

I hope that helps, but see what others reccomend.

Regards

SB

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:09 pm 

Hi DanN,